Survey 20: For Future Archaeologists…

If you could only save 10 songs for posterity, what would they be?

9 Responses to “Survey 20: For Future Archaeologists…”

  1. Editor B Says:

    Prelude in E Minor by Dietrich Buxtehude
    Music on a Long Thin Wire by Alvin Lucier
    The Grave by Don McLean
    Don’t Answer the Door by BB King
    Naughty Number Nine by Grady Tate
    Oye Negra by Ferrante & Teicher
    Devil’s Gun by CJ & Co.
    Orderliness, Godliness, Discipline and Dignity by African Head Charge
    Calvary by Rev. James Cleveland
    Rhinestone Cowboy by Glen Campbell

    • EricIndiana Says:

      By your quick response, I take it that you have thought this through in the past… just in case you ever have to decide?

    • EricIndiana Says:

      Well, let’s see. The folks at NASA would have chosen a Beatles song – I remember they put on on Voyager. All lists involving music must include a RAMONES song as well. And I’d have to consult Bartender J on this, but it seems like there should be a Bach piece, maybe in place of that Dieterich guy. To tell you the truth, I don’t really know the other songs, except of course the last entry, which strikes me as some sort of “in your face” poke at posterity. But maybe I am not giving Glen Campbell enough credit – I’m trying to imagine radio of the future being restricted to just 10 songs & having to hear Rhinestone Cowboy every 25 minutes or so.

      • Editor B Says:

        Oh yes, the Beatles, I forgot about them. If I was to include a punk rock song though I think it would be Breakdown by the Buzzcocks. That’s their first incarnation with the great Howard Devoto on vocals. Unfortunately I ran out of slots because you are only allowing TEN SONGS FOR THE REST OF ETERNITY. That’s crazy. Actually Buxtehude was kinda like a pre-Bach Bach. Bach gets all the glory but Buxtehude laid the foundation. The great thing about Rhinestone Cowboy is it never gets old no matter how many times you hear it. I don’t think that choice can be considered negotiable.

  2. Jeffersonic. (DSK) Says:

    Pinball Wizard -The Who
    Carbona Not Glue-Ramones
    Night Train To Valhalla-John Fahey
    19th Nervous Breakdown-Rolling Stones
    The Creeper-The Ventures
    Coming Your Way-Fleetwood Mac
    Astronomy Domine-Pink Floyd
    I Put A Spell On You-Screamin’ Jay Hawkins
    Future Proof-Massive Attack
    Nr. 9-Hooverphonic

  3. Jeffersonic. (DSK) Says:

    Hooverphonic is a Belgian Trip-Hop outfit. I think their first record “A New Stereophonic Sound Spectacular” is their best. It sounds lush and cool, I’ve listened to repeatedly and I’ve yet to grow tired of it. The next record “Blue Wonder Power Milk” is not quite as satisfying and more poppy but contains my favorite song of theirs “Out Of Tune”. Still, I think it’s pretty solid. The next three records struck me as progressively bland until the latest “The President of the L.S.D. Golf Club” which is a step back towards “Blue Wonder Power Milk”. There are a few worthwhile tunes on it, imo. The first record though, has a cool purity I find delicious.

    Say, I remember your salon as being the first place I ever heard “Teenager of the Year”, which I still enjoy. Do you think any of Frank’s further efforts have measured up to that one?

Leave a Reply

